Notice of application for appointment to the expert review committee for the PHC-EML

Hereby, the National Department of Health calls for applications from suitably qualified doctors, pharmacists, nurses and other health professionals for appointment to the Expert Review Committee for the Primary Health Care Level Essential Medicines List. The Committee is a standing subcommittee of the National Essential Medicines List Committee (NEMLC) appointed by the Minister of Health for a period of three years. It is a non-statutory advisory Committee that will operate in accordance with its Terms of Reference.

The Committee’s primary objective will be to review the list of essential medicines for the Primary Health Care level. The selection of medicines for inclusion on the essential medicines list is based on consideration of safety, efficacy, effectiveness and affordability.

South African citizens, or permanent residents are eligible for appointment if they have suitable knowledge, skills, expertise and work experience in at least one of the following areas (refer to the Essential Drugs Programme Committee Application Form for further details):

  • Evidence based medicine
  • Clinical practice guideline development
  • Rational medicines use
  • Public health
  • Health economics
  • Pharmaco-economics
  • Medicine safety
  • Clinical trials
  • Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee

Preference will be given to applicants with extensive public sector experience. In order to appoint a balanced Committee with the necessary skills and expertise, consideration will also be given to private sector applicants. Appointed members would be expected to:

  • Agree to comply with the code of practice pertaining to the declaration of interest and confidentiality policies.
  • Act in accordance with the highest professional and ethical standard at all times.
  • Avail themselves for meetings, punctually and for the whole of the scheduled meeting time.
  • Contribute to debates in an informed and rational way.
  • Take decisions solely in the interest of the public.
  • Respect and value each member’s perspective and contribution.
  • Facilitate the work of the Committee through the co-ordination of peer reviewed technical appraisals.

The National Department of Health reserves the right to verify details submitted and; to subject candidates to the necessary security clearance. Correspondence will be limited to selected candidates only. No late applications will be accepted. The final selection of members will be made by the National Department of Health.

Interested persons are requested to complete and submit the Essential Drugs Programme Committee Application and Declaration of Interest forms by e-mail to:

Dr Janine Jugathpal
Tel: 012 395 8449

It would be appreciated if applications can be received by 7 December 2015.

Posted in Public health newsTagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Be part of our network of leaders and innovators.

Join now