MRC scientific achievement awards

The Medical Research Council strongly supports excellence in health research and has established a set of medal awards to recognize world-class science. The awards are among South Africa’s most prestigious and are dedicated to those who contribute to health research in South Africa.

Eligible candidates will be identified through an open, public nomination process, as well as an MRC Awards Nominations Committee. Awardees are selected by an MRC Merit Awards Selection Committee and the MRC Board. Winners will receive a framed certificate, a medal and a cash prize, and will be recognized at an awards event on the MRC medals boards and through various publication media.

There are three categories of the MRC Awards, aimed at those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health research. The three categories are:

  • Platinum: The Platinum Medal is a Lifetime Achievement Award for an outstanding South African scientist who has raised the profile of South African science and helped build the foundations of health research in the country for future generations. Platinum Medals may be awarded each year to an MRC (intramural or extramural) scientist and to a non-MRC scientist.
  • Gold: The Gold Award is a Scientific Excellence Award that is awarded annually to established senior scientists who have made seminal scientific contributions that have impacted on health, especially in developing countries. Nominees need not be South African. Gold Medals may be awarded in each of 4 categories each year.
  • Silver: The Silver Award is a Scientific Achievement Award for younger researchers who have recently completed a doctoral/medical/dental degree. Silver medals may be awarded each year to an MRC (intramural or extramural) scientist and to a non-MRC scientist.

You are hereby invited to nominate suitable individuals for any of the three MRC medals.

The nomination form can be completed by either the nominee or the nominator, but both must sign the form as it will be a joint submission. A nominator may nominate more than one person for any of the awards. Nomination forms and further information can be obtained from our website  or by contacting Thabi Maitin at the MRC at

The closing date for the submission of nominations is 31 August 2013. Awardees will be announced before the end of the year.

Please submit completed and signed forms to Thabi Maitin at

Note that the MRC Merit Awards Selection Committee and the MRC Board may decide to change the category of award selected by the nominator, where considered appropriate, and reserve the right not to award all the listed medals if there are insufficient suitable candidates.

Posted in Public health newsTagged ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Be part of our network of leaders and innovators.

Join now